www.auctionsieve.com
The AuctionSieve forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Post new topic   Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 2:32 pm    Post subject: OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space Reply with quote

Auctionsieve has been having some issues.

First (minor) issue is that all auction amounts are showing with parenthesis, as if they were BINs.

Big problem is that I cannot run even half my sieves without getting a cascading collection of "OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space" windows. Trying to dismiss them just causes more to appear, and the program is seized up.

Ex1:
AuctionSieve version 3.0.0
Operating System = windows nt (unknown)
Java version = 1.6.0_29
Java vm version = 20.4-b02
Java runtime version = 1.6.0_29-b11
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.util.Arrays.copyOf(Arrays.java:2882)
at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.expandCapacity(AbstractStringBuilder.java:100)
at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.append(AbstractStringBuilder.java:572)
at java.lang.StringBuilder.append(StringBuilder.java:203)
at hashbang.util.StringUtils.collapseWhitespace(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.util.StringUtils.cleanup(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.ebay.EbayResultsPage.<init>(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.sieve.ItemRetriever.getItems(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.sieve.ui.SieveControlPanel$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)

Ex2:
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.util.Arrays.copyOfRange(Arrays.java:3209)
at java.lang.String.<init>(String.java:215)
at java.lang.StringBuilder.toString(StringBuilder.java:430)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.Proxy.getHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.Proxy.getRawHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.ProxyManager.getRawHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.sieve.ItemRetriever$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)

Ex3:
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at java.util.Arrays.copyOf(Arrays.java:2882)
at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.expandCapacity(AbstractStringBuilder.java:100)
at java.lang.AbstractStringBuilder.append(AbstractStringBuilder.java:390)
at java.lang.StringBuilder.append(StringBuilder.java:119)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.Proxy.getHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.Proxy.getRawHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.net.ProxyManager.getRawHtml(Unknown Source)
at hashbang.auctionsieve.sieve.ItemRetriever$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)


I haven't changed anything on my end, so it'd be eBay up to shenanigans again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, nevermind. Looks like eBay changed the number of a category, so my searches were instead now dragnetting all of eBay (instead of that category), and bringing up thousands of results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I thought that category number change was the problem. But no.

Still getting the "OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space".

AuctionSieve is running out of memory way too fast. About halfway through my sieves - Less than 500 auctions showing through all open sieves, the Error windows start popping up.

The only workaround I can see is to run 4 or 5 sieves. Close AS. Reopen. Rinse, repeat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try to take a look tonight
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't been able to replicate it yet.

In the meantime, try updating to the latest beta to see if that helps.

Also, it's definitely worth updating your java to the latest:
http://www.java.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll do both and report back. Thanks Nev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated AS to beta and got the latest java. Still the same issue. Can't get through a session without closing/reopening AS a couple of times.

Can't see any differences on my end that would cause a java memory leak. No dramatic increases in sieve counts (except the one I mentioned and corrected earlier).

That said, the workaround is not that big of a deal, and I can hope the issue will get corrected by updates in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you just confirm something?
Go to Tools->Options->Browser tab
and check the version of Java AuctionSieve is using
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Nev, got distracted and forgot to drop by the forum.

Java version = 1.6.0_29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2018 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so it's still using the older Java - probably because you originally installed the AuctionSieveSetup-Jre.exe version which has Java embedded.

To fix that, go to the download page
http://www.auctionsieve.com/downloads/
and download and install the top one - AuctionSieveSetup.exe

Once it's installed and you run it, go to that Browser tab again in Options and let me know which Java version it says.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nev,

I followed those instructions, and it's still showing:

Java version = 1.6.0_29

Should I be deleting the old exe file first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, give that a try - uninstall first and then install using the new one.

One other thing, are you comfortable using the command prompt in windows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, did the Uninstall.

[Wow, I'm glad I had copied my AS files to a backup folder! I didn't realize Uninstall wiped out everything, including user files.]

Reinstalled.

Anyhow, still the same thing:
Java version = 1.6.0_29

When I look up Java in my Control Panel, the Java version on my computer is:
Version 8 Update 171 (build 1.8.0_171-b11)

I know how to use the Windows command prompt, but almost never use it, so not a familiar thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is really weird.

Regarding the backup thing, sorry about that.
Where are your data files stored?
By default they should be in somewhere like
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\AuctionSieve
which shouldn't be deleted when you uninstall

Have you perhaps got the option in Tools->Options->Advanced tab to store sieves in the program folder? If so, I'd advise unchecking that option and moving them to the user folder. That option should only be used if you run it off a USB and want to run it on multiple computers.

Ok, now let's try to figure this out.
Fire up a cmd prompt and type
java -version
What version does that say it is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chamalscuro
AuctionSieve guru


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, everything is in the same folder. I've ran it like that forever, and clone everything to a backup folder before big changes. So most folks won't have that issue with an Uninstall, got it.

java version "1.8.0_171"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_171-b11)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.171-b11, mixed mode, sharing)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group