www.auctionsieve.com
The AuctionSieve forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 9:42 pm    Post subject: Opera does not recognize URLs passed to it by AuctionSieve Reply with quote

Hi, I'm having the following problem:

When I click on a View link in AuctionSieve, I get an Error! Invalid URL Error which says, for example,
Quote:
The URL http://"http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.0&ext=200223324160&item=200223324160" contains characters that are not valid in the location they are found.


The corresponding output (when running Opera from the commandline) is
Code:
xxx@tom-desktop:~$ java -DBROWSER="opera -backgroundpage" -Xmx512m -jar /usr/local/jar/AuctionSieve/auctionsieve.jar
browser = opera -backgroundpage
Trying opera -backgroundpage  "http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.0&ext=200223324160&item=200223324160"


How can I fix this? I'm running Ubuntu 8.04 and Opera 9.27.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Further: http://www.opera.com/support/search/view/797/ may show why Opera is doing this (it will not allow the use of certain characters said to be phishy, like exclamation marks), and the address bar when Opera gives this error shows "opera:illegal-url".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1159
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi motmot,

Do any of the new beta version help fix this problem?

Also, try putting a %s in there. ie
java -DBROWSER="opera -backgroundpage %s" -Xmx512m -jar /usr/local/jar/AuctionSieve/auctionsieve.jar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, your second solution worked:
Code:
java -Xmx512m -jar -DBROWSER="firefox %s" /usr/local/jar/AuctionSieve/auctionsieve.jar
means Firefox plays nicely with 1.9.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is really weird. I'm running Ubuntu 8.04. When I run AuctionSieve from the commandline using the above command, when I click 'view' I get
Code:
browser = firefox %s
Trying firefox http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.1&ext=310059890415&item=310059890415
appearing in the terminal, and everything works fine.

When I create a Launcher icon which runs the same command and click on it to run AuctionSieve, when I click 'view' I get
Code:
browser = firefox s
Trying firefox s "http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.1&ext=180255426326&item=180255426326"
appearing in the terminal, and Firefox tries to open two windows, one of them with the address "s" and one of them with the address "file:///home/tom/%22http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.1&ext=180255426326&item=180255426326%22".

Which obviously doesn't work. Any ideas on what's happening? I'm going to try posting this on the Ubuntu forums as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1159
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like the percent sign probably needs to be escaped.
Try putting a \ in front of it.
Ie
java -Xmx512m -jar -DBROWSER="firefox \%s" /usr/local/jar/AuctionSieve/auctionsieve.jar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to take so long to reply - I've been away on holiday.

I'm afraid that doesn't fix the problem. After changing the Launcher's properties so that DBROWSER = "firefox \%s", I get the following appearing in the terminal:
Code:
browser = firefox \%s
Trying firefox \http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.1&ext=160260036602&item=160260036602
and this appearing in the browser's address bar:
Code:
file:///home/tom/\http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/710-53481-19255-0/1?type=2&campid=5335846438&toolid=10001&customid=AuctionSieve1.9.1&ext=160260036602&item=160260036602

No-one's left a reply to my post on this problem in the Ubuntu forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nev
Site Admin


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 1159
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, something else to try. Go to
Tools->Options...->Browser Tab
and turn on
Force creation of new browser window when clicking View
(and get rid of the \ in front of the %s)

Nev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
motmot
AuctionSieve regular


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry: when I do that, this appears in the terminal
Code:
browser = firefox s
Trying firefox s "file:////home/tom/tmp/view01.html"
and a new browser window is created, one window showing "s" in the location bar, and the other "file:///home/tom/%22file:////home/tom/tmp/view01.html%22"

I'm now running the following very simple bash script from the folder where AuctionSieve is installed, and everything works fine when I do that.
Code:
#!/bin/bash
# Run AuctionSieve
java -Xmx512m -jar -DBROWSER="firefox %s" /usr/local/jar/AuctionSieve/auctionsieve.jar


I should add that this hasn't stopped me using AuctionSieve a good deal, and finding it very useful!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group